Narrative Writing

Adrenaline rushed through me, I stopped the ball and kept the play alive. I nervously glanced at the clock. “Just one more minute” I said through clenched teeth ready to shatter.
My throbbing foot was forcing all my weight onto my other leg. It was my last game of the day, out of 5. I was sprawled out on the bench, with tears in my eyes and pain slowly creeping up my leg. My coach did the slightest thing to let me know I’m in. He pointed to me and back to the game. I stumbled to find my words all that came out was coach… my foot… “You will be fine” he would reply. With no further argument i was in the game. The pain burned like a blazing fire in my foot. The man guarding me continued to shove me and step on my foot. I would kick him off and even shove him back when the refs were not looking. finally the time was right. i had the ball, almost tucked under my left arm. I cradled it right and swung it around left. I throw it down spinning back an split second later. he was beat and he knew it. All he could do was throw me down as hard as he could. I chucked the ball over my shoulder swishing it as the foul was called. the ref has a stern strong voice when he said ” hey 42 thats intentional, your out of the game”. The kid tried to fight back but his coach pulled him back. Still on the ground, the pain throbbing worst then ever I pushed myself up. I stumbled again and let out a cry the whole gym could here. the ref walked over to me asking how I was. I told him i was fine. I wanted to stay in. I look at the sidelines and gave big 42 one last wave goodbye.
I now know to play the game carefully. My foot snaps when I walk and still hurts this day. Basketball is a sport that you have to learn to play through pain, but next time I’m sitting this one out.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *